The week started with Sumiyoshi Matsuri. The last of the season in Osaka and my (final) chance to wear my yukata. I was honestly quite nervous about it. Putting it on by myself with no proper mirror to work with and going out attracting even more attention that I normally would. But my mind was made up, this was my only chance. And I did it! I put on my yukata, double checking to do it the right way, tied my obi, added the obijime and put up my hair. I opted to leave with my flip-flops instead of my geta to make sure I could actually walk. I met up with a fellow Couchsurfer and we went to the matsuri together. We participated in the ritual of walking through the circle of straw and had some shaved ice.

On Tuesday I had a rest day without much to do and with just planning and preparing for the rest of the week. Had my first katsudon in Japan, even if it was a ready-meal from Donkihote. Still delicious!

On Wednesday I wanted to explore a new area so I took the metro to Nakanoshima. The island splitting the river in downtown Osaka. I walked along the river and went past The National Museum of Art and The Science Museum as well as Osaka Prefectural Nakaoshima Library and The City Public Hall. The area was rather pretty and quiet with a lot of good photo ops. For lunch I finally went to a salad bar that I had previously looked up online. The Fielder’s Choice was entertaining to say the least. The salad was great and the atmosphere was very pleasant, but the best thing are by far the puns! This place just doesn’t take itself too seriously and I wish I could eat there everyday.

Wednesday was really where the walking started. On Thursday it continued in Kyoto for the entire day and on Saturday in Nara. Luckily Friday was a rest day in between but I’m definitely feeling the kilometers and the sun. As a result on Sunday what better to do than just walk some more?

Well I decided that Sunday was the perfect day to go get myself an entire cheesecake from Rikuro’s. A pretty famous chain in Osaka, particularly knows for their flurry cheesecake. I was a bit worried since the weather was very hot and the walk back would take at least half an hour, but to my surprise the cake came pretty much straight from the oven so I had no problems with it, as the cake was warmer than the air outside. When it comes to taste I wouldn’t exactly call it a cheesecake, it tasted more eggy to me or maybe like the homemade cheese from Finland. It was delicious either way!

Leave a Reply

